noobinfini.blogg.se

Waterloo records twin peaks season two
Waterloo records twin peaks season two




  1. WATERLOO RECORDS TWIN PEAKS SEASON TWO HOW TO
  2. WATERLOO RECORDS TWIN PEAKS SEASON TWO SERIES

And really getting into some of the pieces.

WATERLOO RECORDS TWIN PEAKS SEASON TWO HOW TO

Lately I’ve also enjoyed pulling the curtain back a bit and getting a taste of the Official Story.)Īnyway, it turns out the guy behind the 33 1/3 series, Marc Woodworth, teaches writing at Skidmore College - including classes such as “Writing Rock.” And in 2015 he released a book called How to Write About Music, a collection of readings, writing assignments, and little educational/inspirational bon mots from other professional writers, all organized as one might organize a writing class. Not having details lets the mind go wild. It’s easy to argue that a little mystery about the individuals and scenes these albums sprung from might’ve actually made them more compelling and interesting.

waterloo records twin peaks season two

But musicians and artists weren’t yet the hyper-accessible trans-media properties they seem like today. I mean, I got into SAW2 soon after it came out and got into Loveless in 1996 (relatively late for that 1991 album) - both times (essentially) pre-internet, pre-social media. I picked up some broad strokes about these people and scenes - stuff I’d gleaned from the occasional article that would crop up or bit of biographical information a friend was circulating - but not much detail. James? Kevin Shields? Ambient music scenes in the early 90s? Noise rock in the late 80s? I grew up in Austin, which has a lively music scene, but this stuff might as well’ve been happening worlds away. I love ‘em - and they were both integral to my adolescent formulation of what good music was. I know each pretty much note-by-note, beat by beat, from start to finish. (A quick aside: I found it interesting just how little I knew about the artists behind these two albums. Each felt like a long magazine feature, offering up back story about the artists, bits of interviews with key players, track-by-track discussions of the albums themselves, and cultural/historical context. Christin and I spent Thanksgiving tucked away in a cabin out in the middle of nowhere near the Catskills and had nothing but time to kill, so I read a couple: Aphex Twin’s Selected Ambient Works Volume II (by Marc Weidenbaum) and My Bloody Valentine’s Loveless (by Mike McGonigal). The works they cover run the gamut from the Beatles’ Let It Be to Kanye West’s My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy to Koji Kondo’s Super Mario Bros soundtrack - just perusing the list on their website makes for an interesting read.

waterloo records twin peaks season two

WATERLOO RECORDS TWIN PEAKS SEASON TWO SERIES

So last November I discovered the 33 1/3 books - a series of chapbook-length reads, each deep-diving a single album.






Waterloo records twin peaks season two